About Us

The only pan Asian awards designed to celebrate and honour the very best of Asian achievement across a range of professional sectors.

What is the APA?

The APA is the only pan Asian awards designed to celebrate and honour the very best of Asian achievement across a range of professional sectors. It provides a platform to recognise and honour Asians who excel in their professional careers and contribute to the success of businesses big and small on a daily basis. These contributions relate to helping their company grow, helping shape their industry and making a difference to the people they work with. These are all too often overlooked. Without this recognition being made more widely there is a vacuum of Asian role models for others wanting to be equally successful in their careers.

Why celebrate Asian success?

London is set to build its 3rd business district dedicated to Asian Business, worth an estimated £6 billion to the UK economy and British Asian professionals are in a unique position to enable corporations to foster stronger links with the East which has the fastest growing economy in the world. In addition the Asian community is 8% of the UK’s population and a study by the Centre for Social Markets concludes that Asian Businesses contribute up to 10% to the GDP of our country.


We have developed a fair shortlisting process which takes into consideration educational achievements, major professional achievements, contribution to their profession and votes of confidence from others. We also have a high profile group of judges from across all professions to make the final decisions about the winners in their fields. You can read a guide to the judging process here.

2018 Judges and Team

The Asian Professional Awards panel of judges is made up of eminent people from the business, corporate and public sector. We are very proud to present the following people who make up the judging panel for this year.

—Jasvir Singh OBE, Family Law Barrister & Media Commentator

Param Singh

Real Estate Investor 

Onkardeep Singh MBE

Senior User Experience and Visual Designer

Harry Virdee

Finance Director at Capita Plc

Previous Judges

Prof. Carl Lygo


BPP University

Nina Amin MBE



Dr Judith Hulf

Senior Medical Adviser and Responsible Officer

General Medical Council

Dr Catherine Brady

Council Member

General Dental Council

The Singh Twins

Contemporary British Artists

Catherine Dixon

Chief Executive

Law Society

Mak Chishty

Commander for Engagement

Metropolitan Police Service

Professor Sir John O’Reilly


NICC (Standards) Ltd

Niall Dickson

Chief Executive

General Medical Council

Justine Lutterodt


Synchronous Leadership

Adrian Leppard


City of London Police

Gabriela Lungu


Weber Shandwick

Bundeep Singh Rangar

Chief Executive


Satvinder Singh

Global Head of Institutional Cash & Securities Services

Deutsche Bank

Kevin Maguire

Associate Editor

Daily Mirror

Peter Martyr

Global CEO

Norton Rose Fulbright

Evlynne Gilvarry

Chief Executive

General Dental Council

Catherine Duggan

Director of Professional Development and Support

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

CB Patel

Chief Executive

Asian Voice and Gujarat Samachar